Sorry, it has taken a while to post the next part of my journey but here it is finally! To see the first post in the series please see My Scoliosis Journey – Part 1.

The first couple of years after been diagnosed with scoliosis were definitely a defining point in my life. In those whirlwind first few months, I saw every type of therapist under the sun and had constant x-rays and tests to try and determine what we should do. After the initial excitement, the reality that life was not going to the same started to set in. Already shy and self-conscious I started to retreat further into my shell. I also transitioned from primary to intermediate school which meant I needed to make a whole new set of friends.

I am most definitely an introvert and I think scoliosis isolated me further from the world. I was smart and driven and even from a young age selfish from the point of view that I did what worked for me, often with little regard for others. I never tried to fit in and have never been influenced by others or felt pressure to be drawn in to things I don’t want to do. This trait has been both a blessing and a curse. While, it is great to live a life that is not influenced significantly by others, I also have a tendency to block people out and dwell in my own self-pity. Having scoliosis took me deeper into this world and although I was always told it is the weird people that end up doing well and that popularity only gets you somewhere in school I think I took this too seriously.

In regards to treatments we looked primarily at alternative style treatments to try and halt the progression until we decided surgery was the best option. My main treatments included chiropractic, kinesiology and neuromuscular massage therapy with an array of other treatments in smaller amounts. These helped with my pain, although luckily I never experienced much pain related directly to my back. Even now, 10 years after surgery my back rarely gets sore. While my neck is often tight, my actual back has few issues which I am grateful for. Life continued and eventually my appointments became fewer, keeping up with only necessary ones. I got used to living this way and I do think the extent of the treatments helped to some extent.

By the age of 15, I knew I needed to get the surgery done. I could tell my back was getting progressively worse and I knew if I was going to get surgery I needed to get it done while I was still at school. I told my mum I had decided the time was come and the next phase of my scoliosis journey started.

Look out for the next post and please ask me any questions you might have.

Jay x

 

 

