As someone who has always been a huge believer in “you are what you eat” I definitely am a strong advocate for eating what is best for one’s self. I have a tendency to drop in and out of food groups and do periods of completely gluten free, dairy free, carb free, sugar free etc… However I am very much a foodie and despite eating healthy the majority of the time, life is all about moderation hence I have adopted this attitude.

Lately however I have been placing a bit more thought around this. I have suffered from severe headaches, aches and pains and at times quite bad fatigue which I have always put down to the issues with my back and the stress that the spinal fusion has placed on my body. I have found cranial osteopathy to be a huge help however the more I read and think about the impact of food the more I think changing my diet should help.

While limiting sugar, dairy and gluten makes me feel healthier I still often get headaches and pins and needles; often at seemingly random times. After reading “Diet Wise” by Prof. Keith Scott Murray I have decided to embark on an elimination diet for 2-3 weeks. The goal of this is to remove all potential allergens from your system and then slowly reintroduce them one at a time via a challenge test to measure any effects. Day 3 into the challenge and I am feeling remarkably better than I thought. I have heard the withdrawal symptoms can be pretty bad but so far so good.

The foods I have decided to eliminate include:
1. Dairy
2. Grains (allowing myself small amounts of quinoa if needed).
3. Citrus Fruit
4. Coffee, Tea (herbal and green are ok), alcohol
5. Chicken and Egg
6. Tomato
7. Additives, binders etc
8. Majority of Processed Foodsgreen tea

I am really looking forward to seeing the results I get and help refine my already healthy eating. A hot coffee on a cold day is definitely what I am missing but managing ok with my green tea.

